Lurgan Model Primary School, built in 1863, was one of a number of Model Institutions providing education up to school leaving age. It has generous accommodation for its current enrolment of 230 pupils, including 26 nursery pupils. The children range in age from 3 to 11 years. Presently the school has a staff of 10 teachers including a full-time Special Educational Needs withdrawal teacher. There are no composite classes. The school is co-educational, non-denominational and accepts pupils irrespective of race or religion.

Under current legislation the Board of Governors is responsible for managing the school.

Board of Governors Membership 2018 - 2022

Board Representatives Mrs A Carbery & Mrs S Magee

Transferors Mr T Enderby (Chairperson) & Mrs L McDonald

Parent Representatives Mrs A Carbery  & Mrs F McKerr

Principal Mr N Campbell (Hon Secretary)

Teacher Representative Mrs L Spence

Principal and Vice Principal

Principal Mr N Campbell
Vice Principal Mrs L Spence


Nursery Mrs K Campbell
Year 1 Mrs M Towe
Year 2 Mrs U Leighton
Year 3 Mrs J Roderick
Year 4 Mrs L Spence (Vice Principal)
Year 5 Mr M McConville (SENCO)
Year 6 Mrs L Brown
Year 7 Mr G O’Hagan

Full-time SEN withdrawal teacher Mrs T Whelan

Other Staff

Secretary Mrs E Harrison

Premises Supervisor Mr G Anderson

Nursery Assistant Mrs L Stewart

Classroom Assistants Mrs A Forker (Year 1), Mrs B McGrath (Year 2)

Special Needs Assistants Mrs M Haughey, Mrs M McSherry, Ms C Donnelly, Miss F Gray, Ms S McVeigh

Newcomer Support Classroom Assistant Mrs A McGeown

Cleaning Staff Mrs S Halfpenny and Miss L McQuillan

Supervisory Assistants Mrs D Hyndman, Mrs S Halfpenny and Miss M Ganley

Patrol Crossing Miss M Ganley

School Meals Mrs J Graham, Mrs J Loughran and Miss L McQuillan